Who’s Who on Facebook Panel for Content Decisions: Full List


Here is a list of the members of the Facebook “supreme court” announced Wednesday who will consider difficult decisions on what content to allow or remove from the world’s largest social media platform.

According to Facebook, the Oversight Board members have lived in more than 27 countries, and speak at least 29 languages among them.

Four co-chairs

  1. Catalina Botero-Marino: A former special rapporteur for freedom of expression of the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights of the Organisation of American States; currently dean at the law school of the Universidad de los Andes in Colombia.
  2. Jamal Greene: Columbia University law professor specialising in constitutional rights adjudication.
  3. Michael McConnell: Former US federal judge who is now a constitutional law professor at Stanford University.
  4. Helle Thorning-Schmidt: Former prime minister of Denmark who later served as CEO of Save the Children.

Other members

  1. Afia Asantewaa Asare-Kyei: A human rights advocate at the Open Society Initiative for West Africa.
  2. Evelyn Aswad: A University of Oklahoma law professor and former State Department lawyer on international human rights standards.
  3. Endy Bayuni: Former editor-in-chief of the Jakarta Post.
  4. Katherine Chen: Communications scholar at the National Chengchi University in Taiwan who studies social media, mobile news, and privacy.
  5. Nighat Dad: Digital rights advocate who offers digital security training to women in Pakistan and across South Asia.
  6. Pamela Karlan: Stanford Law professor and former US Justice Department official who is on the board of the American Constitution Society.
  7. Tawakkol Karman: Nobel Peace Prize laureate and activist who promoted non-violent change in Yemen during the Arab Spring.
  8. Maina Kiai: A director of Human Rights Watch’s Global Alliances and Partnerships Program, and a former UN special rapporteur who has been a human rights advocate in Kenya.
  9. Sudhir Krishnaswamy: Rights activist and vice chancellor of the National Law School of India University.
  10. Ronaldo Lemos: A technology, intellectual property, and media lawyer who co-created a national internet rights law in Brazil, and teaches law at the Universidade do Estado do Rio de Janeiro.
  11. Julie Owono: Digital rights and anti-censorship advocate in Africa who leads Internet Sans Frontieres.
  12. Emi Palmor: A former director general of the Israeli justice ministry who led initiatives to address discrimination and promote diversity.
  13. Alan Rusbridger: A former editor-in-chief of The Guardian who oversaw its Pulitzer Prize-winning coverage of the Edward Snowden disclosures.
  14. Andras Sajo: A former judge and vice president of the European Court of Human Rights.
  15. John Samples: A vice president of the US-based libertarian Cato Institute who writes extensively on social media and speech regulation.
  16. Nicolas Suzor: A Queensland University of Technology Law School professor who focuses on the governance of social networks.

For the latest tech news and reviews, follow Gadgets 360 on Twitter, Facebook, and subscribe to our YouTube channel.

MediaTek Dimensity 1000+ 5G Chip Announced, to Launch on Upcoming iQoo Phone

LG Velvet With Triple Rear Cameras, Snapdragon 765G SoC, 5G Support Launched: Price, Specifications

Related Stories

Articles You May Like

OnePlus 8T Battery Specifications Confirmed, Warp Charge 65 Announced Ahead of October 14 Launch
Poco X3 Launching in India Today at 12pm (Noon) via Virtual Event: Expected Price, Specifications
Samsung Galaxy S20 FE With 120Hz Display, Triple Rear Cameras Launched: Price, Specifications
HP AIO 24, Pavilion 27 All-in-One PCs With Pop-Up Webcam, 10th-Gen Intel Core Processors Launched in India
In a world where up is down, it’s heartwarming to know Internet Explorer still tops list of web dev pain points

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *